Monday , 22 July 2019

    Home » International » President signs decrees on appointing ministers

    President signs decrees on appointing ministers

    June 1, 2019 19:55 International, News, Politics A+ / A-

    Armenian President Armen Sarkissian signed decrees on Saturday appointing number of ministers to their posts. As the press department at the President’s Office reported, Arayik Harutyunyan was appointed to the post of Minister of Education, Sciences, Culture and Sports, being relieved from the post of minister of education and sciences, Tigran Khachatryan was appointed to the post of Minister of Economy, Suren Papikyan appointed minister of territorial administration and infrastructures and Hakob Arshakyan was appointed minister of high technological industry, being relieved from the positon of minister of transport, communication and IT.

    To note, the appointments came after the National Assembly approved the legislation on the structure of the government that merged five ministries in line with Prime Minister Nikol Pashinian’s pledges to downsize the state bureaucracy.

    According to the new structure, in particular, the ministries of agriculture and economic development turned into a single ministry, as the ministries of education, culture, and sports and youth affairs. A similar merger of the ministries of energy and local government led to the creation of a new Ministry of Territorial Administration and Infrastructures.

    scroll to top